HOMEGROWN TERRORISM

The American Heritage dictionary defines terrorism as:

“The unlawful use or threatened use of force or violence by a person or an organized group against people or property with the intention of intimidating or coercing societies or governments, often for ideological for political reasons. ”

Under this definition, the USA has been practicing terrorism for years. I will cite several examples. The United States in 1953 conducted clandestine military actions against the government of Iran and overthrew the former Prime Minister Mohammed Mossadegh to install the brutal dictatorship of Reza Pahlavi. This was done without a formal declaration of War as required by the US Constitution and thus unlawful, according to US and international law. This according to the dictionary’s definition was an act of terrorism.

In 1973 the CIA and Secretary of State Henry Kissinger orchestrated the clandestine and military overthrow of the government of Chile and the President of that country Salvador Allende, replacing it with that great humanitarian General Augusto Pinochet. A BBC article dated June 12, 2002 stated that Kissinger may face extradition to that country for his alleged role for the coup. Again, this is an act of terrorism under both US and International law according to the above definition.

In 1954 again the CIA conducted a covert operation to overthrow the government of Guatemala, and democratically elected President Arbenz.

These are only several examples that we know about, that became public due to diligent reporting by various journalists.

Unfortunately terrorism is not just practiced by religious fanatics that have no real affiliation with a country. It has been used throughout history not jut by the US, but by countless other nations and individuals to achieve political ends.

I personally abhor terrorism. However I find it hypocritical in the extreme to suggest that it is only others that conduct themselves in such a brutal uncivilized way.

I am not a fan of Islamic fascism, and quite frankly I find most of their religion that I know of, that being Wahabbism to be repulsive, and I do not fear them. However it is another thing entirely when the most powerful nation on earth engages in this form of brutality. Every act of barbarism, every clandestine operation that is military in nature, (that is not done with an open declaration of war as required by the constitution), and not based solely on intelligence, every act of terrorism that has been and perhaps will be done in the future that is conducted by the US government is done in our name. As an American take this very personally, as I do not condone terrorism in any form.

What can we do to stop this form of home grown terrorism? I think the first thing we can do is to demand accountability from our elected representatives. Under our form of government only Congress can declare war, the War Powers Act of 1973 notwithstanding. We must demand that all publicly elected officials adhere firmly to the supreme law of the land. If the terrorists in our land wish to continue their barbarous activities, they should do it legally, by amending the Constitution.

I do fear for our great republic, because barbarism only begets more barbarism. Even if it were based on the best of intentions; in the case of Chile and Iran it was not since both of those countries were replaced with brutal dictators, it is still terrorism under the above definition. We must, if we are to represent to the world, that we believe in freedom and liberty and not wanton killing.

So I find it disingenuous that the current and in my opinion illegal occupant of the White House talks so flippantly about terrorism. What I see more than anything else is him using this term to curtail our freedoms and rights that are guaranteed under the Constitution, and as set forth in the Declaration of Independence as rights that have been endowed by our Creator. If we do hold these truths to be self-evident that our rights come not from government, but from our creator, taking them away is a crime of the highest magnitude.

All around me I see the rising tide of a police-state authoritarian, and un-american ideology. They called it the USA PATRIOT Act, yet I find nothing patriotic in curtailing the rights that I was born with. I was taught at a very young age, that my rights stop where my neighbors’ begin, and I still firmly believe that. This is called freedom. What we have today in America is a not even a reasonable facsimile of what that means.

I believe that some of the reasons that this police-state authoritarian ideology has been gaining strength in the land of the free has particularly to do with terrorism both home grown, and our reactions to being attacked. President Franklin Roosevelt once said that the only thing to fear is fear itself. I find too many of our politicians in Washington and elsewhere are fomenting us being fearful, so that government may become more authoritarian. This concerns me greatly. I like freedom. I like eating what I want. I enjoy traveling where I want to go freely and without encumbrance. I like, as you can see here, saying what I want without fear of reprisal. I see more and more of this personal freedom disappearing in the home of the brave. I wonder if you the reader do too, and welcome any and all comments about what we can do to preserve them for ourselves and our posterity.

I also see a rising tide of Globalism. Many people say it will come anyways it is only natural. I saw a videotape recently of David Rockefeller one of the chief proponents of Globalism who is immensely powerful. He said, and I am paraphrasing that he liked globalism but did not endorse the citizens of the world being able to vote in that one world government. If the citizens of other nations wished to join us, in endorsing the idea of a constitutional republic, where the rights of the minority were protected, and civil liberties guaranteed, I might not have such qualms about Globalism. Unfortunately I do not see the United Nations embodying those ideals.

I hope that all reasonable people everywhere condemn terrorism as it only leads to more and more hate and violence.

Leave a Reply

